VIDEOS: These are the three goals nominated for the FIFA ‘Puskas’ Award

Argentine Erick Lamela stands out among the three nominees.

Nick Potts – Pool / Getty Images

This Tuesday, January 4, FIFA announced the three nominees for the Puskas Award, which is awarded to the best goal of the year. This time the nominees were the Argentine Erick Lamela (Seville), the Czech Patrik Schick (Bayer Leverkusen) and the Iranian Mehdi Taremi (Porto).

Lamela’s goal, which dates back to March 14, 2021 when he was still wearing the Tottenham uniform, was scored against Arsenal with a rabona shot from almost the front of the area which has been one of the three goals selected by the voters.

For his part, the goal scored by Schik was during the group stage of Euro 2020 against Scotland. The Leverkusen player hit a precise shoe from the center of the field which helped the Central European team to a 2-0 victory.

For his part, Taremi’s score was a spectacular Chilean against Chelsea in the UEFA Champions League group stage which served for Porto to achieve victory in that match but not to advance to the round.

The winner of this award will be announced on January 17 at the ‘The Best’ Awards gala which will take place in Zurich, Switzerland, where awards will also be given to the best footballer, best players by position and best coaches of the year.

It should be remembered that last year’s ‘Puskas’ Award was won by Tottenham’s South Korean Heung-min Son.

Read also:
– Last chance for Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo? Awards ‘The Best’ announced its delivery date
– Who will win? FIFA reveals candidates for the Best award
– Thibaut Courtois attributes being excluded from The Best Awards to a punishment from FIFA: “I know what I’m worth, that’s what matters”

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *